The school was built in 1819 by the Quaker Friends and was known as the 'Eight Square Schoolhouse.' Desks were located around the walls, with benches for the younger children in the middle. A desk for the teacher and a large stove were in the center.
Du Pont, Pierre S. (Pierre Samuel), 1870-1954 (former owner)
Caption: 'Row 1: Sophie M., Bernard Clark, Unknown, Louisa d' Andelot; Row 2: Mrs. Edith Holcomb, Casanove Gardner, Mildred Clark Woolley, Edith Booth, Elizabeth Mercur, Mary Belin, Unknown; Row 3: Maurice du Pont, Charles Lennig, Louis Cazenove du Pont.'